Coming Home: Recent Life and Plans for Next Year

I’ve been having problems over at my other site so will be moving back here for a while for general goal-posting and detail-updates – think that makes sense for now! A lot of things have changed and a lot of things have been going on, mainly –
  • Setting up for 2013 – I’ve already mentioned how my thoughts and plans for next year have been highlighting all the things I want to get in place THIS year – and it’s become even more real as my various book orders have started arriving and other things have been falling into place.

 

  • Living the Life – I’ve realised a lot of what I’m doing is analysing how my life NEEDS to be in order to get the results I want within the next year/three years/10 years, and very gradually and incrementally I’m moving over to these new patterns, finding ways to arrange my time to do the things that need to be done to get the end result. This is what I’m doing with Music Weeks, because at least every other week Music is my priority and I am keeping the dream alive by throwing all my time at it. The weeks I’m not prioritising it, life goes on much as it has been, and there’s a certain comfort in that although I know that at that level I would never stand a chance of achieving the dreams I have deep down. So I’m in a state of transition; half the time I’m devoted to the new life I want to see, and half the time I’m preserving the status quo – it suits me at the moment to be straddling both with the hope of something better without going mad. Trying to arrange my swimming and workout schedule is similar – if I can make it to 3 swims and 2 high-intensity workouts a week, I know that will be a good pattern for me. It’s been a struggle trying to organise it but I’m glad I started early so it’ll feel like second nature by the new year.

 

  • Time management – the more I do, the less time I have to write about it! That’s true of this blog and my writing in general, for example if I want to get my half-day off work I have to make up my hours in advance and because I’m swimming more often, the days I’m not swimming I often have to go in half an hour earlier than usual which cuts into my writing time at home. Likewise during music weeks I will often miss writing because I’m trying to squeeze in as much as possible. I’m trying to squeeze in as much as possible in every sense and the two weeks my husband was off work and I had the chance to avoid the 5am alarms, I chose not to, because it’s taken me six months of experimenting and honing my schedule to make the most of every single slither of time during those work-days, and the thought of changing the variable was just too much. Life is very finely balanced but I feel comforted by the thought that I really couldn’t be doing much more than I am. I am maxing out my time and my life and the opportunities available to me.

 

  • In the midst of all this I’ve been learning to live with less-than-perfect, and to give myself (and others) a break. I have ideas in my head about what I’d like to achieve (how many workouts, how many kilometres, how many kanji, and all the rest of it) and for the first time ever I’m NOT expecting myself to hit targets first time, or all the time.

 

Only just today, I got a break in the seemingly never-ending stream of kanji practice (realised I’d printed the same list twice so only had to do half as much today as I planned!) and that’s given me a tiny breathing space to update the blog (and myself) on what’s going on. Last weekend as well, I took a step back, took some time out from other activities and just thought and wrote and planned and made lists until everything felt under control again. So hopefully over the next few days I’ll start getting updated here and things maybe then I’ll be able to keep up to date on my progress as I’m going along! The main thing is that, in the absence of too much sitting back and observing the process, there has been plenty of progress to review!

Preferences
§
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
0
=
Backspace
Tab
q
w
e
r
t
y
u
i
o
p
[
]
Return
capslock
a
s
d
f
g
h
j
k
l
;
\
shift
`
z
x
c
v
b
n
m
,
.
/
shift
English
alt
alt
Preferences
Leave a Reply

