2013 Goals: Scheduling

Now that I have my goals all planned out and explained, I’ve been trying to break them down into daily, weekly and monthly tasks and time commitments. Seeing the whole list at once is a little bit freaky – it certainly represents the variety of things I want to do and represents cramming the most I can into the next year of my life – but then, that’s me, and when I’m at my best, working optimally, I can get all of these things done, and those achievements rest only on two things:

–        Scheduling everything into my time in a practical way

–        Sticking to the schedule! (which also has a feedback loop into scheduling because if I haven’t wanted to do something, it’s often because I’ve scheduled it at the wrong time in my energy cycle).

 

DAILY (5 THINGS)

A1) NEVER get depressed.

A3) Observe an exercise regime and meal programme that works for me and ticks over in the background. Never have a wholly sedentary day. Never have a week where I miss my base-line (4×4)

A4) Tackle one eating habit per month

B1) Combined practice target of 720-730 hours or more (15h/week on average)

D3) Keep an immaculate and inspiring home

In effect that means that on any given day I need to aim for the minimum of:

Morning journal time to clear my head and set my plans for the day, schedule, and work out what I’m doing and why. Also be clear on my  Eating strategy – have a meal plan, know what I need to be wary of, know what habit I’m trying to break.

Exercise time – it’s always either a cardio or a strength day and often both. Get it done.

Music – 2 hours daily baseline

Cleaning – 10 things/30 minutes but can be combined with cooking time.

In reality most of my days are much more complicated than this, but this is the bare minimum for when I have those days that I really can’t face doing much more. It’s basically exercise time + 2 hours music + ½ hour cleaning + as much writing as I feel I need. That feels manageable to me; even on my most tired and trying days I hope I can achieve that much.

 

WEEKLY – try to hit as many of these as possible each week (17 Things)

A2) Weigh 140 (2lb/wk) – Lose 2lb/1kg a week on average.

B1) Combined practice target of 720-730 hours or more (15h/week on average)

C1) Read at least one book each in Japanese, French and German (/8/4 pages)

C2) Retain the ability to write all the kanji I’ve learned so far (up to level 3) – weekly test rotation

C3) Learn the rest of my 常用漢字  (standard kanji) and be able to write any character from the reading/meaning: 12 characters a week

C5) Improve written French (work on this weekly) – ½ hour/week

C7) Increase German vocabulary

C8) German listening – at least once/week on walks to work

C9) Read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire in Russian – 14 pages or tapered version

C10) Incidental languages – one session a week, ½ hour

G1) Pass F9 and become officially “part qualified” – 2hours per week

E1) Weekly card

E2) Weekly scrapbook page

E3) Monthly sewing project – aim to work on this evenly, ½ hour per week

F1) Maintain friendships

F2) Weekly post item

F3) Weekly gift

I did a time analysis of my week and found that on average, I have around 24 hours of useable time at home during the week (after taking into account my exercise and normal sleep patterns). 15 hours of this needs to go on music time (at least). The remaining nine hours can be split between social time, down-time and the creative pursuits in sections E and F (classing letters in the loosest sense as “creative!”) as all the other goals are supposed to fall within work and travel time.

 

MONTHLY: to round-up each month (12 things – 12×12!)

A2) Weigh 140 – monthly targets

A4) Tackle one eating habit per month – report success on this

B1) Combined practice target of 720-730 hours or more (15h/week on average)

C1) Read at least one book each in Japanese, French and German – target pages

C5) Improve spoken Japanese (keigo): target 24 sessions, 2 sessions a month

C6) Improve written German – Postcard exchange

C9) Read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire in Russian – page numbers

D1) Pay off our remaining debt

D2) Save £4620

E3) Monthly sewing project

E4) Try 12 new recipes

F4) Monthly day-trip with B

It seems clear from this that the crux of successfully completing these goals is going to be in the WEEKLY scheduling. Many of the monthly goals are built on the weekly components – so the more I can work into each week, the more I will be able to achieve over the year as a whole. That makes sense to me – monthly planning is good for meta- or one-off goals but having week-on-week scheduled goals makes it easier to focus and breaks everything down into bite-sized chunks.

 

ONE-OFFS / UNSURE – not scheduling any of this lot for the time being:

A5) Start jogging again – Spring/Summer

B2) Finish writing 3rd album and record (acoustic)

B3) Be gig-ready on guitar

B4) Be performance-ready on piano

B5) Play a gig!

B6) Give a performance!

C8) sit one of the kanji tests

C9) Start working on CH vocab before the end of the year

C10) French language exchange – conversation (K at work)?

D4) Buy a car

F5) Have a 2-week holiday with HH

 

 

 

Preferences
§
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
0
=
Backspace
Tab
q
w
e
r
t
y
u
i
o
p
[
]
Return
capslock
a
s
d
f
g
h
j
k
l
;
\
shift
`
z
x
c
v
b
n
m
,
.
/
shift
English
alt
alt
Preferences
One thought on “2013 Goals: Scheduling

  1. I’m going to follow your example this coming year, and set up weekly goals and success points. Here’s a to a fabulous 2013!

Leave a Reply

