What’s The Plan?!

Two days to the New Year…! All our family obligations are now done (for several months, hopefully) and while we’ve had a great time, it’s been quite hectic and we now have three days before work starts up again (two left of this year and then New Year’s Day).

After all that planning and listing I’ve decided to try and keep things as simple as possible, and boil each day’s schedule down to just the most important tasks for each day – which for the days I’m at home are simply: exercise, music, cleaning. Plus other things that come up as I’m going along. It’s a great deal easier thinking about my days that way, particularly the days I’m here on my own – all I have to do is get up and make sure I get those three things done.

I’m trying to put that into practice already for the rest of this holiday and get two or more hours of music done as well as a decent workout and some cleaning. There are a few other things I want to get wrapped up before I go back to work though:

  • Print photos etc.
  • Creative time – it’s Sunday today which is my regular crafty evening and I have a load of Christmas stuff to scrapbook 
  • Tax return
  • Shopping – a few gifts and a couple of home necessities to buy before the year is up!
  • Finish kanji testing cycle
  • Make up kanji cards and make sure German is on my phone, scan in some more Russian
  • Set goals for January and make checklists to start off the year

I’m hoping to ease in to the New Year with those shorter lists and keep on track with everything, it’s a shorter week at work and a free first weekend for us, so hopefully I will be able to hit all my goals for the first week and get ahead a bit before things start to get busy again. I always feel a bit like however good my plans are, life comes along to derail them, things are always too busy and we always get swept up in unexpected events and invitations! And I really want to make sure that next year I achieve the things I set out to, no excuses. Partly that’s in the art of not over-scheduling, and partly it’s a case of having the discipline to get on and do the things I need to do while I have the chance – like today. Not staying on the SOFA for too long when I could be getting on with music – which I’m going to get on with right NOW!!

Preferences
§
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
0
=
Backspace
Tab
q
w
e
r
t
y
u
i
o
p
[
]
Return
capslock
a
s
d
f
g
h
j
k
l
;
\
shift
`
z
x
c
v
b
n
m
,
.
/
shift
English
alt
alt
Preferences
One thought on “What’s The Plan?!

  1. Yes, I quite agree — best laid plans, and all that, eh? I’ve had the same past experience. This year, my approach is determining the few things I must absolutely get done (don’t over-schedule or over-estimate what I can fit in), and then doing them before anything else. This means, reducing my daily goals to the few Action Items I’m certain I can fit in, and which I want to become part of my daily routine. If I tell myself, for instance, that I must do my morning physio before I can play with my blog entries, then I have an incentive, and the physio gets done before another event arises. I keep reminding myself, “If I truly believe this goal is important to me, then I must prioritize it and make time for it.” You’re right — if we can’t fit in your goals once the daily hustle and bustle starts up, then we’re not likely to make them our life routines. Good luck with your last few days of peace!

Leave a Reply

