Work: a change of pace and a possible new direction

OK So I am all confused about work! My job was supposed to be a low-key money-earner 9-5 (or more likely 8:30-4!) out the door and forget about it kind of affair, with trade-offs in that I would have time to study on the train and during spare moments during the day. Which is what it was until about three weeks ago! But suddenly it’s exploded, it’s crazy busy, I keep finding more that I can do, and more to the point I’m involved and I’m enjoying it.

And really, I’d rather go to work and work hard and feel like my work was both rewarding and rewarded. I have kind of been on protest because I do way more than anyone else who’s been in that role and they keep giving me more to do and I keep doing it and I suspect they’re trying to make me the cart-horse I was in my old job. It’s not the kind of job or the kind of company where they can ever pay me what my work is worth to them in terms of what they would have to pay someone else to cover it. BUT what if that changed and I felt like I was getting recognition for the work I’m capable of doing? My pay this year has gone up by more than I’d expected and I might be able to push in for a promotion next year which would put me way beyond where I was when I worked full-time. My attitude change about working more with people than on tasks has made work massively more rewarding – if I’d only known that sooner. And I’m getting in a better position to learn more and have more influence, so I really feel like I’m contributing (even if the job and the company are still fairly pointless in the bigger scheme of things) – but it might be a good prospect for the longer-term, beyond the next couple of years as I was initially thinking.

The upshot of this is that a lot of the goals I set were due to be completed during work time – most of the language stuff – and if work continues to be this busy I’m not going to be able to complete those goals. I don’t want to use my out-of-work time as I’m working as I can towards music (another career option effectively) so I will, I expect, fail at some of my goals for this year. I’ve decided not to worry about that now – if things are less busy later in the year I can get caught up, my finance exam I can push back to December, etc. I need to prioritise and decide which language stuff is absolutely the most important and just do that first.

Preferences
§
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
0
=
Backspace
Tab
q
w
e
r
t
y
u
i
o
p
[
]
Return
capslock
a
s
d
f
g
h
j
k
l
;
\
shift
`
z
x
c
v
b
n
m
,
.
/
shift
English
alt
alt
Preferences
One thought on “Work: a change of pace and a possible new direction

  1. I definitely agree, it’s better to go to work and feel challenged and enjoy it, if that’s possible. And if your work situation has indeed taken that permanent turn, then I don’t think you would be “failing” at other language goals, but re-prioritizing based on new and unexpected circumstances. There’s nothing wrong with that. You need your job to pay the bills, and in particular to pay off your debt (which is another goal you have); so I say “Hurray!” if your job has evolved beyond a get-paid-while-killing-time role. Now, if your job was going to compromise your free time for music, then you might have to look seriously at whether it was going to be a problem. But (in my mind, anyway) language goals are more fluid — you want to be a professional musician, after all, not a professional translator or linguist. So your language studies could easily be the thing that expand or contract as time allows.

Leave a Reply

