Week 6 Round-up

6 weeks of working hard and chipping away at my goals – surely we must be getting somewhere by now?!

This week saw a veritable work explosion, and I was so busy with work that it really crowded my thoughts and time and left me unable to complete all my personal goals. Some of this is OK, but by the end of it I realised that work thoughts encroaching on my exercise time, walking time and even shower time have stopped me visualising and daydreaming about my own goals so much, and this needs to stop! It’s not just the use of time but the energy and focus that come with it.

WEEKLY GOALS:

A2) Weigh 140 (2.2lb/week): I lost 0.4lb and to be honest I’m amazed I lost anything at all! I had three horrible days for eating out of seven, I’ve barely been working on my monthly goal at all, and I’ve eaten so many times when I was already full – it’s just been a mess! It was one of those weeks where I could feel my body desperately trying to lose weight in spite of everything I was doing to it and I’ll be gutted if it turns out this was my only chance for a decent loss this month and I blew it. But a lesson learned and at least I haven’t set myself back any further.

A3) Observe an exercise regime and meal programme that works for me and ticks over in the background. Still going strong on the 5x5s, did a monster swim on Monday that just about finished me off but I can feel that I’m stronger. I’m not feeling particularly bouncy – hence why it’s only 5 cardio workouts and not six – but I am feeling more powerful.  I did a run round the park over the weekend AND a big swim on my day off so I’m pleased with that combination.

B1) Combined practice target of 720-730 hours or more (15h/week on average): just over 15 hours accomplished! This brings me to over 95 hours so far this year and I can feel that I really am starting to make progress, I just lack energy so much and when it comes to fitting in practice I almost always seem to be at my most exhausted. It really requires more energy and I need to find that from somewhere.

C1) Read at least one book each in Japanese, French and German (5/8/4 pages) –  this didn’t get done, because of the way work was I was trying to fit in other language stuff on my train time and/or just feeling too tired. I was at least a week ahead though so no sweat here!

C2) Retain the ability to write all the kanji I’ve learned so far (up to level 3) – weekly test rotation. Done –  only just about finished the rotation although I still have practice to catch up on.

C3) Learn the rest of my 常用漢字  (standard kanji) and be able to write any character from the reading/meaning: 12 characters a week. Skipped this week – this is very much something that will only happen at work so if I lose the time it’s gone. Never mind – I have several weeks in hand and hopefully I’ll get back to it eventually!

C5) Improve written French (work on this weekly) – ½ hour/week – Not done although I believe I did watch something with French subtitles 😉

C8) German listening – at least once/week on walks to work – Done.  This at least I can do, as long as I still commute!

C9) Read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire in Russian – 14 pages or tapered version – I got one page done on the train and this means I haven’t been doing vocab either but it’s something I can catch up with in the long run.

C10) Incidental languages – one session a week, ½ hour – Not done, this is the least of my worries!  

G1) Pass F9 and become officially “part qualified” – 2hours per week – I did maybe half an hour all week!

E1) Weekly card – Done!

E2) Weekly scrapbook page – not done!

F1) Maintain friendships – had a coffee and a catch up and that was cool 😀

F2) Weekly post item – SO I am SO proud of myself that I got one of the Japanese letters done! It got left and left but I did at least finish the draft, and then when we had maintenance guys round on Monday and I couldn’t very well do music I made the most of the lull to fit this in. Tried writing downwards and that felt really beautiful – especially with all the kanji practice I’ve been doing. The writing is coming much more naturally. Also I know my teachers love to get these letters so it feels good to have that done.

F3) Weekly gift – done – I had forgotten about a birthday for next week and managed to find a good combination of bought and home-made things that will make a lovely gift without breaking the bank. Pleased with this!

 

WORK TOWARDS MONTHLY GOALS:

A4) Tackle one eating habit per month – my habit for February is to eat as little as emotionally possible. Not much done, I need to really go back to basics. The good thing is that even when I’ve been stuffing myself, at least half of it has been healthy, we’ve been eating lots of fruit and veg and few carbs.

E3) Monthly sewing project – not started although the friend I was going to make something for has got a mending project she wants help with so maybe we’ll do that instead.

It was a good week for getting little things done, lots of snagging issues have been sorted out like the washing machine and my mobile phone and various bits and pieces. So I feel like I’ve made progress and really the goals I missed hitting this week are not the important ones, and there’s still time to get caught up.

Next week is my short week at work so hopefully I’ll be able to restore some sanity – at least at home!

 

Preferences
§
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
0
=
Backspace
Tab
q
w
e
r
t
y
u
i
o
p
[
]
Return
capslock
a
s
d
f
g
h
j
k
l
;
\
shift
`
z
x
c
v
b
n
m
,
.
/
shift
English
alt
alt
Preferences
Leave a Reply

