Week 9 Round-Up

WeeklyUpdate

Had a distinct feeling of nine weeks I’ve been doing this and where has it got me??! when I woke up this morning but I’m determined not to lose track of the weekly round-ups. I’ve come this far, through all the ice and winter darkness, without giving up yet, and it’s probably the longest I’ve gone without routines like these without having a total melt-down. So I guess I’ll keep going and see what happens!

WEEKLY GOALS:

A2) Weigh 140 (2.2lb/week): Not sure exactly where I am with this as my weighing style is changing which means the goal posts have moved. My top-line weight would have been up 1.5 on last week’s lowest weight but it’s 1.5 down on the top-line month-start weight from last Friday…. Anyway from next week I’ll at least be able to track real top-line weights and I’m hoping for a good comparison!

A3) Observe an exercise regime and meal programme that works for me and ticks over in the background. I did 5 cardio and 6 strength sessions, making up for the one I missed last week. Cardio comprised three swims, a bike and a jog so that was quite well balanced!

B1) Combined practice target of 720-730 hours or more (15h/week on average): 15 hours done and progress made in some areas although not the progress I was expecting!

C1) Read at least one book each in Japanese, French and German (5/8/4 pages) –  I only did the French but I did the whole month’s worth of pages (we had a long train journey!)

C2) Retain the ability to write all the kanji I’ve learned so far (up to level 3) – weekly test rotation. Testing finished for that cycle, I’m having a practice week next week before starting up a new testing cycle the week after.

C3) Learn the rest of my 常用漢字  (standard kanji) and be able to write any character from the reading/meaning: 12 characters a week. Not really any progress here.

C5) Improve written French (work on this weekly) – ½ hour/week – Not done

C8) German listening – at least once/week on walks to work – Done!

C9) Read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire in Russian – 14 pages or tapered version – I did the pages I was meant to and then one extra on the train over the weekend.

C10) Incidental languages – one session a week, ½ hour – Not done although I had some interesting Japanese e-mails to write so that was a bit different!

G1) Pass F9 and become officially “part qualified” – 2hours per week – Did this every day! It’s not much fun but it would be nice to think I can get it out of the way!

E1) Weekly card – Done! I think!

E2) Weekly scrapbook page – Done – some pictures from our Karaoke trip the week before.

F1) Maintain friendships – We went to see J&D and their kids, which was an adventure on the train into the countryside and a new first for us as a couple! It had that starting-out feel to it but hopefully this is a friendship we can build on.

F2) Weekly post item – Two done. – A card and the re-printed photos for my mum for Mother’s day, and the long letter to Canada. I am *temporarily* up to date with post! Though I doubt that will last very long!

F3) Weekly gift – not done but I did a lot of thinking about it!

WORK TOWARDS MONTHLY GOALS:

A4) Tackle one eating habit per month – my habit for March is to write down my feelings just before I eat. It’s been a bit hit-and-miss but I do find when I do this that it’s much easier to control my intake. It’s only the beginning of the month so I hope with time and practice that I’ll get more into this!

E3) Monthly sewing project – I made a very tiny start on converting the leftover bottom of T’s dress into a cowl for her birthday – this will have to get finished next week!

 

 

 

Preferences
§
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
0
=
Backspace
Tab
q
w
e
r
t
y
u
i
o
p
[
]
Return
capslock
a
s
d
f
g
h
j
k
l
;
\
shift
`
z
x
c
v
b
n
m
,
.
/
shift
English
alt
alt
Preferences
Leave a Reply

