One Potato, Two Potato…

Two baby new potatoes… that was my total overt starch intake for last week. I started afresh last Monday after two starchy days in a row (potatoes on Saturday and my usual weekly bagel treat on Sunday) determined to at least have a couple of days starch-free before I got into them again. I made a start, and then I just kept going. Somehow it seemed so easy at work to just have salads with protein. I made it to Friday. Saturday the two new potatoes accompanied an enormous lamb steak for lunch and I fell asleep directly afterwards! And Sunday I had a picnic but again was able to take all my own stuff and avoid the starches completely. I could have had more – it would have been fine, I’m not ruling them out completely. But I wanted to see what happen, and found in the end that I wasn’t that bothered about bagels, at least for this one weekend.

Don’t get me wrong, my diet isn’t 100% healthfreaked out – and I’m not sure I want it to be. I have controlled portions of little bits of chocolate on work days, the cheesy bit of a cheesecake slice or some ice cream. There are still ways I could improve if I wanted to be “perfect” but I think if I stop having those things completely I’ll run the risk of binging – for now anyway. And besides, those are things I enjoy. So while there’s a little leeway to do “better” I knew it would be pretty impossible to beat this week’s weight-loss no matter what I did. It’s unlikely I’ll have many weeks like this where I’m in a situation to avoid all bread, pasta, rice, and potatoes (save those two little ones!)

According to the scales this morning, I lost 7.8lb. I’m pretty shocked by this, but there it is. It seems a bit bonkers, and I don’t massively expect people to believe it, but I have to believe it myself – believe it and accept it! This is on top of a 5.8lb last week (that’s just shy of a stone in two weeks) and around 4lb the week before, so I have to believe that this is just how my body is choosing to respond to the changes I’ve been making, and hope it can continue for a little while longer until I hit some milestones. I can’t see it in my face, but I can feel it coming off my body – I’m just 8lb off LWY now and some of the clothes I bought at my lowest weight in 2011 are now starting to fit. It’s bonkers! But I love it!

So what HAVE I been eating? This is the question I get a lot. Well I’ve picked my time well because we’re having a bit of a heat-wave here in the UK – appetites are low and temperatures high which means breaking a sweat doing normal activities or even just going outside! So I’m sure that helps. We’ve been having a lot of fruit, a lot of salad, a lot of stir-fries, and assorted meat and fish. And a load of yoghurt. And a little bit of cheese. And eggs. So many eggs!

I have perfected my crustless-quiche-egg-“muffins” (though not a muffin with flour in! they’re just made in the muffin tin!) These have ham and spring onions and peas in and look a bit like this: (it’s a non-stick pan and those babies just pop right out!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

There are about a dozen eggs in there and I just mix everything up and bake until it gets nice and crispy on the top – about 40 minutes or so. I’ve also discovered (because if you can’t have carbs for breakfast you have to have meat, right? I don’t know where that idea comes from) frankfurters that are made of chicken! Which are quite tasty and portable. I know I will have to cut down on my intake of processed meat before long but for now these are a convenient option. So breakfast this morning at home looked like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

When I’m home I’ll often make scrambled eggs and mushrooms with baked beans. For work days, all I need to do is pack up a couple of egg things with a few slices of chickenfurter and a little pot of fruit and that’s all very easy to eat while walking to work from the swimming pool. They seem to keep quite well and the nice thing is as long as I make a batch on a Monday, I’m set for the whole week for breakfasts, and that gets me off on the right foot – making my foody success for the entire week much more likely.

I don’t know how long this will last but I am beating every single scale or target I have for myself right now. These eating habits are not difficult, I enjoy everything I’m eating and it’s true that when not eating starches I barely crave them, so I can see this going on for a while and even getting progressively better. I find I’m listening to my body more especially about portion size, and I’ve learned that I can’t eat everything every day! Which means I can have mozzarella in the fridge and chocolate raisins in the drawer and not be scared of binging on them. I’m hopeful (based on the last three weeks) that I can clear LWY within THIS month which would be awesome – and start August at a new frontier with a body unlike I’ve ever had in my adult life. Scary but kind of totally awesome at the same time!

2 thoughts on “One Potato, Two Potato…

  1. I am not amazed at all. I know when I remove starches/grains from my diet, the weight sheds off me, too! And if I let it sneak back in, the pounds quickly return. I can have steak and eggs for breakfast, no problem. But if I have pancakes or bagels or toast and jam, my jeans start to get tight. I totally agree with the Wheat-Belly guy: I don’t think humans were meant to eat a lot of starch.

    I think it’s good, too, to wean yourself down and continue to allow yourself some treats. Changing eating habits is a gradual process, and you have to make a change, then allow that change to feel “normal” before you change some more. At least, that’s what works for me.

    Congrats on your weight loss!

    • Thanks! I totally agree on all of that. It’s funny that the sugars in fruit and a bit of chocolate seem to be fine and yet the searches make such a dramatic difference! I’ll certainly keep minimizing them for as long as possible because these results really make sense of the efforts I’m making in other areas.

Leave a Reply

